Welcome to the Towson University IRB website

 Click here to return to the Towson University home page

Institutional Review Board (IRB) for the Protection of Human Participants

Get IRB Application

The Nuremberg Code

Human Subjects Training

What Is Human Subjects Research?

What Is "Exempt" Research?

Is My Research "Reviewable Research"?

Additional Federal Resources






What is the IRB?

        The use of human subjects in Towson University faculty, staff or student research requires approval by the appropriate University review committee. This committee, the IRB, appointed by the President, is comprised of volunteers from Towson University's faculty and staff and at least one member of the community. The current chair of Towson University's IRB is Dr. Debi Gartland, Professor of Special Education. The IRB is responsible for reviewing research involving human subjects to ensure compliance with all governmental regulations with the use of human subjects. Approval of the IRB must be obtained prior to the involvement of human subjects in research, and for any modifications to the project after IRB approval which would impact the human participants. Applicable federal regulations are detailed in Title 45 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Part 46.


         The Office of Sponsored Programs & Research is the first point of contact regarding human subjects research at or involving Towson University faculty, staff, or students. Phone: 410-704-2236, or email: irb@towson.edu 

Members of the Towson University Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Participants

(effective 7/1/14)

Dr. Debi Gartland, Chairperson Department of Special Education
Dr. Elizabeth Katz Department of Psychology
Dr. Patricia Alt Department of Health Sciences
Dr. Melissa Groves Department of Economics
Dr. Peggy Korczak Department of Audiology, Speech-Language Pathology & Deaf Studies
Dr. Beth Merryman Department of Occupational Therapy & Occupational Science
Dr. Stacy Spaulding Department of Mass Communication and Communication Studies
Dr. Scot McNary Department of Educational Technology and Literacy
Dr. Amy Trauth-Nare Department of Biological Sciences
Dr. Bethany Willis Hepp Department of Family Studies
Dr. Devon Dobrosielski Department of Kinesiology